# ChatGPT pricing plans

As of 2026-10-16, ChatGPT Free costs $0, Go is $8 a month, Plus is $20 a month, Pro comes in three tiers at $100, $200 and $500 a month, and Business is $25 per user a month ($20 billed annually, 2 or more users). Enterprise and Edu are sold through OpenAI's sales team without a published price. OpenAI publishes Codex message estimates for Plus and Standard Business, not a token or dollar cap, and Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit. Codex is included with Free, Go, Plus, Pro 100, Pro 200, Pro 500 and Business, and it shares one allowance with ChatGPT Work.

Prices read from OpenAI pages; latest read 2026-10-16.

## Plans

| Plan | Price | Included usage | Models | Extra usage | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0/month | Limited Codex and ChatGPT Work access on desktop; the page publishes local-message estimates for Plus and Standard Business only, so the Free allowance is not itemized. | GPT-6 Luna in Codex; GPT-5.6 Terra with limited access in Work and Codex on desktop. | No | [ChatGPT: Codex pricing and plans](https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/pricing), read 2026-10-16 |
| Go | $8/month | More messages with tools, more uploads, more image creation, more voice chats and longer memory than Free; limited Codex access, allowance not itemized on the page. | GPT-6 Luna in Codex; GPT-5.6 Terra with limited access in Work and Codex on desktop. | Not stated | [ChatGPT: Codex pricing and plans](https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/pricing), read 2026-10-16 |
| Plus | $20/month | Estimated local Codex messages per five-hour window: 5 to 45 with GPT-6 Astra, 15 to 160 with GPT-6.1 Sol, 15 to 150 with GPT-6 Sol, 350 to 3,000 with GPT-6 Luna; weekly limits may also apply. | GPT-6 Astra, GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Luna in Codex; GPT-6.1 Sol is available in Work and Codex, not Chat. | Yes, at additional credits purchased in the app; the page does not state the rate | [ChatGPT: Codex pricing and plans](https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/pricing), read 2026-10-16 |
| Pro 100 | $100/month | The lowest Pro allowance; OpenAI publishes no multiple of Plus. The Codex pricing page says Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit and gives no Pro message estimates. Ultrafast is not included. | GPT-6 Astra, GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Luna with expanded access, plus GPT-5.6 Sol Pro. | Yes, at credits purchased in Settings, Usage; the help article does not state the dollar price per credit | [ChatGPT: Codex pricing and plans](https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/pricing), read 2026-10-16 |
| Pro 200 | $200/month | More usage than Pro 100; OpenAI publishes no multiple of Plus. New Pro 200 subscriptions not eligible for grandfathering get a lower allowance than previously offered. Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit. Ultrafast is not included. | GPT-6 Astra, GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Luna with expanded access, plus GPT-5.6 Sol Pro. | Yes, at credits purchased in Settings, Usage; the help article does not state the dollar price per credit | [ChatGPT: Codex pricing and plans](https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/pricing), read 2026-10-16 |
| Pro 500 | $500/month | The highest included usage of the three Pro plans. Ultrafast for GPT-6 Astra and GPT-6.1 Sol uses included usage at 8x the Standard rate, then credits at 6x. Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit. | GPT-6 Astra, GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Luna with expanded access, plus GPT-5.6 Sol Pro; Ultrafast for GPT-6 Astra and GPT-6.1 Sol. | Yes, at credits purchased in Settings, Usage; Ultrafast draws credits at 6x the Standard credit rate | [ChatGPT: Codex pricing and plans](https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/pricing), read 2026-10-16 |
| Business | $25 per seat/month ($20 per seat/month billed annually) | Codex estimates for a Standard Business seat match Plus: 5 to 45 with GPT-6 Astra, 15 to 160 with GPT-6.1 Sol, 15 to 150 with GPT-6 Sol, 350 to 3,000 with GPT-6 Luna per five-hour window; flexible-pricing workspaces can buy additional workspace credits. | GPT-6 Astra, GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Luna in Codex. | Yes, at additional workspace credits on flexible pricing; the page does not state the rate | [ChatGPT: Codex pricing and plans](https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/pricing), read 2026-10-16 |

## What the plan price buys at API list rates

Arithmetic on GPT-6.1 Sol list rates (input $2 and output $10 per million tokens); not a statement of the plan's allowance, which OpenAI does not publish in tokens.

- Plus, $20 a month: 10M input tokens or 2M output tokens
- Pro 100, $100 a month: 50M input tokens or 10M output tokens
- Pro 200, $200 a month: 100M input tokens or 20M output tokens
- Pro 500, $500 a month: 250M input tokens or 50M output tokens

## Codex

Codex is included with Free, Go, Plus, Pro 100, Pro 200, Pro 500 and Business, and it shares one allowance with ChatGPT Work. For Claude, GLM, Kimi, MiniMax and Qwen plans beside these, see [AI coding plans compared](https://benchlm.ai/coding-plans).

## Frequently asked questions

### How much does ChatGPT cost?

ChatGPT Free costs $0, Go is $8 a month, Plus is $20 a month, Pro comes in three tiers at $100, $200 and $500 a month, and Business is $25 per user a month ($20 billed annually, 2 or more users). Enterprise and Edu have no published price. Read 2026-10-16.

### Is ChatGPT free?

Yes. The Free plan costs nothing; chatgpt.com/pricing lists unlimited text chats with GPT-6 (subject to abuse guardrails), limited uploads, image creation, voice chats, deep research and Codex access. The Codex pricing page lists GPT-6 Luna at Standard speed in the desktop app, subject to rollout.

### What is the difference between ChatGPT Plus and Pro?

Plus is $20 a month with Codex estimates published per five-hour window. Pro comes in three tiers at $100, $200 and $500 a month, billed monthly only, with expanded model access, Pro reasoning and no five-hour limit for now. OpenAI publishes no multiple of Plus for the Pro tiers; only Pro $500 includes Ultrafast mode.

### Which models come with ChatGPT Plus?

GPT-6 Astra, GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Luna in Codex; GPT-6.1 Sol is available in Work and Codex, not Chat. Estimated local Codex messages per five-hour window: 5 to 45 with GPT-6 Astra, 15 to 160 with GPT-6.1 Sol, 15 to 150 with GPT-6 Sol, 350 to 3,000 with GPT-6 Luna; weekly limits may also apply.

### What happens when I hit the ChatGPT usage limit?

Plus users who reach the limit can purchase additional credits without upgrading. On Pro, included usage is used first and then the credit balance. OpenAI's pages do not state the dollar price per credit. Our Codex usage-limits page keeps the mechanics with their sources.

### Is ChatGPT Plus cheaper than the API?

OpenAI does not publish the Plus allowance in tokens or dollars, so no exact break-even exists. What can be computed is what the plan price buys at list rates: $20 is 10 million input tokens or 2 million output tokens of GPT-6.1 Sol at $2 and $10 per million. If your workload needs less than that, the API is cheaper.

## Related

- [Codex usage limits](https://benchlm.ai/codex/usage-limits)
- [OpenAI API pricing](https://benchlm.ai/openai/api-pricing)
- [Claude plans and pricing](https://benchlm.ai/claude/pricing-plans)
- [ChatGPT vs Gemini](https://benchlm.ai/compare/chatgpt-vs-gemini)
- [AI coding plans compared](https://benchlm.ai/coding-plans)

Canonical page: https://benchlm.ai/chatgpt/pricing-plans
