# Claude pricing plans

As of 2026-09-14, Claude is free to use, Pro costs $20 a month ($17 billed annually), Max costs $100 for 5x Pro usage or $200 for 20x, Team seats are $25 or $125 a month ($20 or $100 billed annually), and Enterprise is $20 a seat a year plus usage at API rates. Anthropic publishes the multiples, not a token or dollar cap; extra usage on Pro and Max is billed at standard API rates.

Prices read from Anthropic pages; latest read 2026-09-14.

## Plans

| Plan | Price | Included usage | Extra usage | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0/month | Usage limits that reset on a rolling five-hour session; the page describes Free as covering everyday questions. | No | [Claude pricing](https://claude.com/pricing), read 2026-09-14 |
| Pro | $20/month ($17/month billed annually) | At least 5x more usage per five-hour session than Free, plus a weekly limit on paid plans. | Yes, at standard API rates; up to $2,000 redeemed a day | [Claude pricing](https://claude.com/pricing), read 2026-09-14 |
| Max 5x | $100/month | 5x more usage per five-hour session than Pro, higher output limits, priority access during high-traffic periods, and a weekly limit across all models. | Yes, at standard API rates; up to $2,000 redeemed a day | [Claude Help: What is the Max plan](https://support.claude.com/en/articles/11049741-what-is-the-max-plan), read 2026-09-14 |
| Max 20x | $200/month | 20x more usage per five-hour session than Pro, higher output limits, priority access during high-traffic periods, and a weekly limit across all models. | Yes, at standard API rates; up to $2,000 redeemed a day | [Claude Help: What is the Max plan](https://support.claude.com/en/articles/11049741-what-is-the-max-plan), read 2026-09-14 |
| Team, standard seat | $25 per seat/month ($20 per seat/month billed annually) | More usage than Pro per seat, with central billing, SSO, enterprise search and admin controls. | Not stated | [Claude pricing](https://claude.com/pricing), read 2026-09-14 |
| Team, premium seat | $125 per seat/month ($100 per seat/month billed annually) | 5x more usage than a standard seat. | Not stated | [Claude pricing](https://claude.com/pricing), read 2026-09-14 |
| Enterprise | $20 per seat/month, billed annually only | Seat price plus usage billed at API rates; user and organisation spend limits. | Yes, at API rates | [Claude pricing](https://claude.com/pricing), read 2026-09-14 |

## What the plan price buys at API list rates

Arithmetic on Claude Sonnet 5 list rates (input $2 and output $10 per million tokens); not a statement of the plan's cap, which Anthropic does not publish.

- Pro, $20: 10.0M input tokens or 2.0M output tokens
- Max 5x, $100: 50M input or 10M output
- Max 20x, $200: 100M input or 20M output

## Frequently asked questions

### How much does Claude cost?

Claude has a free plan. Pro is $20 a month, or $17 a month billed annually. Max is $100 a month for 5x Pro usage or $200 for 20x. Team seats are $25 a month standard or $125 premium, $20 and $100 billed annually, for 2 to 150 people. Enterprise is $20 a seat billed annually plus usage at API rates. Read 2026-09-14.

### Is Claude free?

Yes. The Free plan costs nothing and includes chat on web, mobile and desktop, web search, memory, file creation, code execution, voice mode, skills and connectors. Its usage limit resets on a rolling five-hour session and Anthropic describes it as covering everyday questions; paid plans add a weekly limit and higher multiples.

### What is the difference between Claude Pro and Max?

Pro gives at least 5x the Free usage per five-hour session for $20 a month. Max gives 5x or 20x the Pro usage per session for $100 or $200, with higher output limits and priority access during high traffic. Both add a weekly limit, both include Claude Code, and both can buy extra usage at standard API rates.

### What happens when I hit the Claude usage limit?

The session allowance resets every five hours and the weekly limit resets at a fixed time assigned to your account. On Pro and Max you can turn on usage credits to keep working: they are billed at standard API rates, redeem up to $2,000 a day, and do not change the reset timing. Our usage-limits page keeps the mechanics with their sources.

### Is a Claude plan cheaper than the API?

Anthropic does not publish the plan caps in tokens or dollars, so no exact break-even exists. What can be computed is what the plan price buys at list rates: $20 is 10 million input tokens or 2 million output tokens of Claude Sonnet 5 at $2 and $10 per million. If your workload needs less than that, the API is cheaper; past the plan cap, both bill at the same API rates.

## Related

- [Claude usage limits and reset rules](https://benchlm.ai/claude/usage-limits)
- [Claude API pricing](https://benchlm.ai/anthropic/api-pricing)
- [Claude API free tier](https://benchlm.ai/free-tier/anthropic)
- [Claude Pro vs Max](https://benchlm.ai/blog/posts/claude-pro-vs-max)

Canonical page: https://benchlm.ai/claude/pricing-plans
