Skip to main content
BenchLM
Data
ChatGPT · subscription plans
Read from OpenAI pages

ChatGPT pricing plans

As of 2026-10-16, ChatGPT Free costs $0, Go is $8 a month, Plus is $20 a month, Pro comes in three tiers at $100, $200 and $500 a month, and Business is $25 per user a month ($20 billed annually, 2 or more users). Enterprise and Edu are sold through OpenAI's sales team without a published price. OpenAI publishes Codex message estimates for Plus and Standard Business, not a token or dollar cap, and Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit. Codex is included with Free, Go, Plus, Pro 100, Pro 200, Pro 500 and Business, and it shares one allowance with ChatGPT Work.

Individual plans: Free, Go, Plus and Pro

Individual plans: Free, Go, Plus and Pro: price, included usage, models and extra usage, each with its OpenAI source and read date.
PlanPriceIncluded usageModelsExtra usageSource
Free$0/monthLimited Codex and ChatGPT Work access on desktop; the page publishes local-message estimates for Plus and Standard Business only, so the Free allowance is not itemized.GPT-6 Luna in Codex; GPT-5.6 Terra with limited access in Work and Codex on desktop.NoChatGPT: Codex pricing and plans Read 2026-10-16
Go$8/monthMore messages with tools, more uploads, more image creation, more voice chats and longer memory than Free; limited Codex access, allowance not itemized on the page.GPT-6 Luna in Codex; GPT-5.6 Terra with limited access in Work and Codex on desktop.Not statedChatGPT: Codex pricing and plans Read 2026-10-16
Plus$20/monthEstimated local Codex messages per five-hour window: 5 to 45 with GPT-6 Astra, 15 to 160 with GPT-6.1 Sol, 15 to 150 with GPT-6 Sol, 350 to 3,000 with GPT-6 Luna; weekly limits may also apply.GPT-6 Astra, GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Luna in Codex; GPT-6.1 Sol is available in Work and Codex, not Chat.Yes, at additional credits purchased in the app; the page does not state the rateChatGPT: Codex pricing and plans Read 2026-10-16
Pro 100$100/monthThe lowest Pro allowance; OpenAI publishes no multiple of Plus. The Codex pricing page says Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit and gives no Pro message estimates. Ultrafast is not included.GPT-6 Astra, GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Luna with expanded access, plus GPT-5.6 Sol Pro.Yes, at credits purchased in Settings, Usage; the help article does not state the dollar price per creditChatGPT: Codex pricing and plans Read 2026-10-16
Pro 200$200/monthMore usage than Pro 100; OpenAI publishes no multiple of Plus. New Pro 200 subscriptions not eligible for grandfathering get a lower allowance than previously offered. Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit. Ultrafast is not included.GPT-6 Astra, GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Luna with expanded access, plus GPT-5.6 Sol Pro.Yes, at credits purchased in Settings, Usage; the help article does not state the dollar price per creditChatGPT: Codex pricing and plans Read 2026-10-16
Pro 500$500/monthThe highest included usage of the three Pro plans. Ultrafast for GPT-6 Astra and GPT-6.1 Sol uses included usage at 8x the Standard rate, then credits at 6x. Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit.GPT-6 Astra, GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Luna with expanded access, plus GPT-5.6 Sol Pro; Ultrafast for GPT-6 Astra and GPT-6.1 Sol.Yes, at credits purchased in Settings, Usage; Ultrafast draws credits at 6x the Standard credit rateChatGPT: Codex pricing and plans Read 2026-10-16
  • Plus: Codex local message estimates per five-hour window from the same page
  • Pro 100: Plan renamed from the earlier Pro 5x listing; the 5x multiple is no longer published. Plan names, the Pro 200 grandfathering terms and the Ultrafast rates are from OpenAI Help, About ChatGPT Pro tiers (help.openai.com/en/articles/9793128), read the same day.
  • Pro 200: Subscribers active on Pro 200 between September 22 and September 29, 2026 keep the previous allowance through October 29, 2026; the price stays $200. Plan names, the Pro 200 grandfathering terms and the Ultrafast rates are from OpenAI Help, About ChatGPT Pro tiers (help.openai.com/en/articles/9793128), read the same day.
  • Pro 500: Plan names, the Pro 200 grandfathering terms and the Ultrafast rates are from OpenAI Help, About ChatGPT Pro tiers (help.openai.com/en/articles/9793128), read the same day.

Codex on ChatGPT plans

Codex is included with Free, Go, Plus, Pro 100, Pro 200, Pro 500 and Business, and it shares one allowance with ChatGPT Work. OpenAI publishes local-message estimates per five-hour window for Plus and Standard Business seats; the Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit, and the Free and Go allowances are not itemized.

To put these beside Claude, GLM, Kimi, MiniMax and Qwen plans, with the models each includes, see AI coding plans compared.

Business seats

Business seats: price, included usage, models and extra usage, each with its OpenAI source and read date.
PlanPriceIncluded usageModelsExtra usageSource
Business$25 per seat/month ($20 per seat/month billed annually)Codex estimates for a Standard Business seat match Plus: 5 to 45 with GPT-6 Astra, 15 to 160 with GPT-6.1 Sol, 15 to 150 with GPT-6 Sol, 350 to 3,000 with GPT-6 Luna per five-hour window; flexible-pricing workspaces can buy additional workspace credits.GPT-6 Astra, GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Luna in Codex.Yes, at additional workspace credits on flexible pricing; the page does not state the rateChatGPT: Codex pricing and plans Read 2026-10-16
  • Business: Codex local message estimates per five-hour window from the same page

How the limits work

Five-hour windows on Plus and Business

OpenAI gives Codex estimates as local messages per five-hour window for Plus and Standard Business, by model. They are estimates, not fixed limits, and weekly limits may also apply.

Pro tiers

Pro is sold at three prices, billed monthly only. OpenAI says each tier gets more usage than the one below but publishes no multiple of Plus, and the Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit.

Credits after the allowance

Plus and Pro subscribers can buy credits to keep working after the included usage. Included usage is spent first, then the credit balance. The pages we read do not state the dollar price per credit.

The Codex mechanics, with their sources, live on the Codex usage-limits page. This page does not show any account's remaining allowance.

Plan versus API: what the same money buys

OpenAI does not publish the plan allowances in tokens or dollars, so no exact break-even exists. What can be computed is what each plan price buys at GPT-6.1 Sol list rates ($2 input and $10 output per million tokens, pricing registry updated October 29, 2026). The figures are arithmetic on published rates, not a statement of the plan's allowance.

Each plan price converted to million input tokens or million output tokens of GPT-6.1 Sol at list rates.
Plan priceMillion input tokensMillion output tokens
Plus, $20 a month10M2M
Pro 100, $100 a month50M10M
Pro 200, $200 a month100M20M
Pro 500, $500 a month250M50M

A workload that needs fewer tokens than that is cheaper on the API, because the plan price is a floor. Use the calculator below to put your own workload beside a plan price.

Plan price beside the API list cost of a workload

Pick a plan, a GPT model and a workload. The API side is list rates times the tokens you enter, the same arithmetic as the pricing calculator. The plan side is its published price; its cap is not published.

Go price
$8.00/month
Included usage: More messages with tools, more uploads, more image creation, more voice chats and longer memory than Free; limited Codex access, allowance not itemized on the page.
Same tokens on the API, list rates
$12.00/month
2,000,000 input and 800,000 output tokens a month on GPT-6.1 Sol.
Does the plan cover it?
Unavailable
The plan does not publish its included usage in credits or dollars; no equivalent can be computed. At this workload the API bill is above the plan price; past the plan's cap, extra usage is billed at the same API rates.

Estimate only, at list rates from the pricing registry. It excludes reasoning tokens billed as output, batch discounts, taxes and provider minimums. Confirm the exact model identifier in the model ID directory and the rate on the OpenAI API pricing hub.

Sources

  1. 01ChatGPT: Codex pricing and plansRead 2026-10-16

Questions

How much does ChatGPT cost?

ChatGPT Free costs $0, Go is $8 a month, Plus is $20 a month, Pro comes in three tiers at $100, $200 and $500 a month, and Business is $25 per user a month ($20 billed annually, 2 or more users). Enterprise and Edu have no published price. Read 2026-10-16.

Is ChatGPT free?

Yes. The Free plan costs nothing; chatgpt.com/pricing lists unlimited text chats with GPT-6 (subject to abuse guardrails), limited uploads, image creation, voice chats, deep research and Codex access. The Codex pricing page lists GPT-6 Luna at Standard speed in the desktop app, subject to rollout.

What is the difference between ChatGPT Plus and Pro?

Plus is $20 a month with Codex estimates published per five-hour window. Pro comes in three tiers at $100, $200 and $500 a month, billed monthly only, with expanded model access, Pro reasoning and no five-hour limit for now. OpenAI publishes no multiple of Plus for the Pro tiers; only Pro $500 includes Ultrafast mode.

Which models come with ChatGPT Plus?

GPT-6 Astra, GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Luna in Codex; GPT-6.1 Sol is available in Work and Codex, not Chat. Estimated local Codex messages per five-hour window: 5 to 45 with GPT-6 Astra, 15 to 160 with GPT-6.1 Sol, 15 to 150 with GPT-6 Sol, 350 to 3,000 with GPT-6 Luna; weekly limits may also apply.

What happens when I hit the ChatGPT usage limit?

Plus users who reach the limit can purchase additional credits without upgrading. On Pro, included usage is used first and then the credit balance. OpenAI's pages do not state the dollar price per credit. Our Codex usage-limits page keeps the mechanics with their sources.

Is ChatGPT Plus cheaper than the API?

OpenAI does not publish the Plus allowance in tokens or dollars, so no exact break-even exists. What can be computed is what the plan price buys at list rates: $20 is 10 million input tokens or 2 million output tokens of GPT-6.1 Sol at $2 and $10 per million. If your workload needs less than that, the API is cheaper.