Which plans include Codex?
OpenAI says Codex is included across ChatGPT plans, including Free and Go. The available allowance varies by plan.
OpenAI Help: Using Codex with your ChatGPT planPublic Codex usage-limit mechanics, source changes, and the boundary between a provider policy and an account-specific timer. It records what OpenAI publishes and where the account-specific answer begins.
This page cannot read your allowance or reset time. Open Codex Settings or the limit banner in your signed-in client for the options available to your plan.
OpenAI says Codex is included across ChatGPT plans, including Free and Go. The available allowance varies by plan.
OpenAI Help: Using Codex with your ChatGPT planWhen available on a plan, Codex, ChatGPT Work, ChatGPT for Excel, and Workspace Agents draw from the same agentic usage and credit pool.
OpenAI Help: Using Codex with your ChatGPT planTask size and complexity, the selected model, and where the task runs all affect consumption. A fixed message counter would give the wrong answer.
OpenAI Help: Using Codex with your ChatGPT planAn active turn can continue subject to fair-use limits. Afterward, the available account options can include credits, a reset, an upgrade, or waiting for the limit to reset.
OpenAI Help: Using Codex with your ChatGPT planPrices and included usage are copied from OpenAI's pages with the date we read them. The provider publishes multiples and message estimates, not a token or dollar cap, so the rows keep the provider's wording and no cap is invented.
| Plan | Price | Included usage | Extra usage | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0/month | Codex is included; the page publishes message estimates for Plus, Pro and Business only, so the Free allowance is not itemised. | No | ChatGPT: Codex pricing and plans Read 2026-09-14 |
| Go | $8/month | More messages with tools, more uploads, more image creation, more voice chats and longer memory than Free; Codex included, allowance not itemised on the page. | Not stated | ChatGPT: Codex pricing and plans Read 2026-09-14 |
| Plus | $20/month | Estimated local Codex messages per five-hour window: 5 to 45 with GPT-6 Astra, 10 to 100 with GPT-5.6 Sol, 25 to 200 with GPT-5.6 Terra, 250 to 2,000 with GPT-5.6 Luna; advanced reasoning models and expanded messages and uploads in ChatGPT. | Yes, at additional credits purchased in the app; the page does not state the rate | ChatGPT: Codex pricing and plans Read 2026-09-14 |
| Pro 5x | $100/month | Estimated local Codex messages per five-hour window: 25 to 225 with GPT-6 Astra, 50 to 500 with GPT-5.6 Sol, 125 to 1,000 with GPT-5.6 Terra, 1,250 to 10,000 with GPT-5.6 Luna; maximum Codex tasks and deep research, unlimited image creation. | Yes, at additional credits purchased in the app; the page does not state the rate | ChatGPT: Codex pricing and plans Read 2026-09-14 |
| Pro 20x | $200/month | Estimated local Codex messages per five-hour window: 100 to 900 with GPT-6 Astra, 200 to 2,000 with GPT-5.6 Sol, 500 to 4,000 with GPT-5.6 Terra, 5,000 to 40,000 with GPT-5.6 Luna. | Yes, at additional credits purchased in the app; the page does not state the rate | ChatGPT: Codex pricing and plans Read 2026-09-14 |
| Business | $25 per seat/month ($20 per seat/month billed annually) | Codex estimates match Plus per user: 5 to 45 messages with GPT-6 Astra, 10 to 100 with GPT-5.6 Sol, 25 to 200 with GPT-5.6 Terra, 250 to 2,000 with GPT-5.6 Luna per five-hour window; flexible-pricing workspaces can buy additional workspace credits. | Yes, at additional workspace credits on flexible pricing; the page does not state the rate | ChatGPT: Codex pricing and plans Read 2026-09-14 |
What the Plus price buys at API list rates: $20 is 10 million input tokens or 1.7 million output tokens of GPT-5.6 Terra ($2 and $12 per million, registry updated September 25, 2026). Arithmetic on published rates, not a statement of the plan's allowance; past the plan's own limit, extra usage is what the provider's page says it is.
Pick a plan, a Claude model and a workload. The API side is list rates times the tokens you enter, the same arithmetic as the pricing calculator. The plan side is its published price; its cap is not published.
Keep these assumptions with the decision. The estimate above is today’s list rates against the workload you typed; both move. Save it as a Radar cost scenario and the next review starts from the same numbers, with the source of every rate attached.
Estimate only, at list rates from the pricing registry. It excludes reasoning tokens billed as output, batch discounts, taxes and provider minimums. Confirm the exact model identifier in the model ID directory and the rate on the Claude API pricing hub.
Product limits can depend on plan, location, workspace controls, prior use, feature availability, and the exact work requested. A useful public page preserves that distinction rather than turning a provider article into a fake personal dashboard.