Skip to main content
Radar

Every change to the models you run, with its source and its date. Releases, price changes, retirements, API changes, and incidents.Every change to the models you run, with its source.

Follow model changes
Claude · subscription plans

Claude pricing plans

As of 2026-09-14, Claude is free to use, Pro costs $20 a month ($17 billed annually), Max costs $100 for 5x Pro usage or $200 for 20x, Team seats are $25 or $125 a month ($20 or $100 billed annually), and Enterprise is $20 a seat a year plus usage at API rates. Anthropic publishes the multiples, not a token or dollar cap; extra usage on Pro and Max is billed at standard API rates.

Read from Anthropic pages

Individual plans: Free, Pro and Max

Individual plans: Free, Pro and Max: price, included usage, models and extra usage, each with its Anthropic source and read date.
PlanPriceIncluded usageModelsExtra usageSource
Free$0/monthUsage limits that reset on a rolling five-hour session; the page describes Free as covering everyday questions.Not itemised for Free on the pricing page.NoClaude pricing Read 2026-09-14
Pro$20/month ($17/month billed annually)At least 5x more usage per five-hour session than Free, plus a weekly limit on paid plans.Opus, Sonnet and Haiku; Fable is listed under usage credits rather than the included allowance.Yes, at standard API rates; up to $2,000 redeemed a dayClaude pricing Read 2026-09-14
Max 5x$100/month5x more usage per five-hour session than Pro, higher output limits, priority access during high-traffic periods, and a weekly limit across all models.Opus, Sonnet and Haiku; Fable at 50% of weekly limits.Yes, at standard API rates; up to $2,000 redeemed a dayClaude Help: What is the Max plan Read 2026-09-14
Max 20x$200/month20x more usage per five-hour session than Pro, higher output limits, priority access during high-traffic periods, and a weekly limit across all models.Opus, Sonnet and Haiku; Fable at 50% of weekly limits.Yes, at standard API rates; up to $2,000 redeemed a dayClaude Help: What is the Max plan Read 2026-09-14

Team seats

Team seats: price, included usage, models and extra usage, each with its Anthropic source and read date.
PlanPriceIncluded usageModelsExtra usageSource
Team, standard seat$25 per seat/month ($20 per seat/month billed annually)More usage than Pro per seat, with central billing, SSO, enterprise search and admin controls.Not itemised per seat on the pricing page.Not statedClaude pricing Read 2026-09-14
Team, premium seat$125 per seat/month ($100 per seat/month billed annually)5x more usage than a standard seat.Not itemised per seat on the pricing page.Not statedClaude pricing Read 2026-09-14

Enterprise

Enterprise: price, included usage, models and extra usage, each with its Anthropic source and read date.
PlanPriceIncluded usageModelsExtra usageSource
Enterprise$20 per seat/month, billed annually onlySeat price plus usage billed at API rates; user and organisation spend limits.Not itemised on the pricing page.Yes, at API ratesClaude pricing Read 2026-09-14
  • Enterprise: The monthly-billed price is not offered; the seat price is annual only.

How the limits work

Five-hour sessions

Every plan's usage limit resets on a rolling five-hour session window. Pro gives at least 5x the Free usage per session; Max gives 5x or 20x the Pro usage per session.

Weekly limits on paid plans

Paid plans add a weekly limit that applies across all models and resets at a fixed time assigned to the account. Anthropic also reserves the right to limit usage in other ways, such as weekly and monthly caps or per-model limits.

Usage credits at API rates

Pro and Max subscribers can turn on usage credits to keep working after the included limit: billed at standard API rates, redeemed up to $2,000 a day, with a monthly spending cap and auto-reload; they do not change the five-hour reset. In some jurisdictions (Japan, from September 10, 2026) credits expire six months after purchase.

The mechanics, with their sources and the shared-product rule (claude.ai, Claude Code and Claude Desktop draw on one limit), live on the Claude usage-limits page. This page does not show any account's remaining allowance.

Plan versus API: what the same money buys

Anthropic publishes the plan multiples, not a cap in tokens or dollars, so no exact break-even exists. What can be computed is what each plan price buys at Claude Sonnet 5 list rates ($2 input and $10 output per million tokens, pricing registry updated September 18, 2026). The figures are arithmetic on published rates, not a statement of the plan's allowance.

Each plan price converted to million input tokens or million output tokens of Claude Sonnet 5 at list rates.
Plan priceMillion input tokensMillion output tokens
Pro, $20 a month10M2M
Max 5x, $100 a month50M10M
Max 20x, $200 a month100M20M

Two consequences follow. A workload that needs fewer tokens than that is cheaper on the API, because the plan price is a floor. Past the plan's cap, both routes bill at the same API rates, since usage credits are priced at standard API rates. Use the calculator below to put your own workload beside a plan price.

Plan price beside the API list cost of a workload

Pick a plan, a Claude model and a workload. The API side is list rates times the tokens you enter, the same arithmetic as the pricing calculator. The plan side is its published price; its cap is not published.

Pro price
$20.00/month
Included usage: At least 5x more usage per five-hour session than Free, plus a weekly limit on paid plans.
Same tokens on the API, list rates
$12.00/month
2,000,000 input and 800,000 output tokens a month on Claude Sonnet 5.
Does the plan cover it?
Unavailable
The plan does not publish its included usage in credits or dollars; no equivalent can be computed. At this workload the API bill is below the plan price; whether the plan would also cover it depends on the unpublished cap.

Keep these assumptions with the decision. The estimate above is today’s list rates against the workload you typed; both move. Save it as a Radar cost scenario and the next review starts from the same numbers, with the source of every rate attached.

Estimate only, at list rates from the pricing registry. It excludes reasoning tokens billed as output, batch discounts, taxes and provider minimums. Confirm the exact model identifier in the model ID directory and the rate on the Claude API pricing hub.

Sources

  1. 01Claude pricingRead 2026-09-14
  2. 02Claude Help: What is the Max planRead 2026-09-14

Questions

How much does Claude cost?

Claude has a free plan. Pro is $20 a month, or $17 a month billed annually. Max is $100 a month for 5x Pro usage or $200 for 20x. Team seats are $25 a month standard or $125 premium, $20 and $100 billed annually, for 2 to 150 people. Enterprise is $20 a seat billed annually plus usage at API rates. Read 2026-09-14.

Is Claude free?

Yes. The Free plan costs nothing and includes chat on web, mobile and desktop, web search, memory, file creation, code execution, voice mode, skills and connectors. Its usage limit resets on a rolling five-hour session and Anthropic describes it as covering everyday questions; paid plans add a weekly limit and higher multiples.

What is the difference between Claude Pro and Max?

Pro gives at least 5x the Free usage per five-hour session for $20 a month. Max gives 5x or 20x the Pro usage per session for $100 or $200, with higher output limits and priority access during high traffic. Both add a weekly limit, both include Claude Code, and both can buy extra usage at standard API rates.

What happens when I hit the Claude usage limit?

The session allowance resets every five hours and the weekly limit resets at a fixed time assigned to your account. On Pro and Max you can turn on usage credits to keep working: they are billed at standard API rates, redeem up to $2,000 a day, and do not change the reset timing. Our usage-limits page keeps the mechanics with their sources.

Is a Claude plan cheaper than the API?

Anthropic does not publish the plan caps in tokens or dollars, so no exact break-even exists. What can be computed is what the plan price buys at list rates: $20 is 10 million input tokens or 2 million output tokens of Claude Sonnet 5 at $2 and $10 per million. If your workload needs less than that, the API is cheaper; past the plan cap, both bill at the same API rates.