Do Claude surfaces share a usage limit?
Anthropic says usage across claude.ai, Claude Code, and Claude Desktop counts toward the same usage limit.
Claude Help: How do usage and length limits work?Public Claude usage-limit mechanics, the shared-product pool, and source changes without pretending to know an individual account’s timer. It records what Anthropic publishes and where the account-specific answer begins.
This ledger does not show your remaining messages, credits, or reset clock. Open Settings > Usage in Claude for account-specific usage and spend details.
Anthropic says usage across claude.ai, Claude Code, and Claude Desktop counts toward the same usage limit.
Claude Help: How do usage and length limits work?Conversation length and complexity, selected features, model, effort level, and subscription plan all affect how quickly the allowance is used.
Claude Help: How do usage and length limits work?Anthropic’s paid-plan usage-credit guidance says included session limits reset every five hours once reached. Plan and regional details can change, so check the source before relying on a future session.
Claude Help: Manage usage credits for paid Claude plansNo. Anthropic distinguishes an Enterprise seat with a rolling included-usage window from API-key use, which is billed pay-as-you-go by the connected Console or cloud account.
Claude Help: Models, usage, and limits in Claude CodePrices and included usage are copied from Anthropic's pages with the date we read them. The provider publishes multiples and message estimates, not a token or dollar cap, so the rows keep the provider's wording and no cap is invented.
| Plan | Price | Included usage | Extra usage | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0/month | Usage limits that reset on a rolling five-hour session; the page describes Free as covering everyday questions. | No | Claude pricing Read 2026-09-14 |
| Pro | $20/month ($17/month billed annually) | At least 5x more usage per five-hour session than Free, plus a weekly limit on paid plans. | Yes, at standard API rates; up to $2,000 redeemed a day | Claude pricing Read 2026-09-14 |
| Max 5x | $100/month | 5x more usage per five-hour session than Pro, higher output limits, priority access during high-traffic periods, and a weekly limit across all models. | Yes, at standard API rates; up to $2,000 redeemed a day | Claude Help: What is the Max plan Read 2026-09-14 |
| Max 20x | $200/month | 20x more usage per five-hour session than Pro, higher output limits, priority access during high-traffic periods, and a weekly limit across all models. | Yes, at standard API rates; up to $2,000 redeemed a day | Claude Help: What is the Max plan Read 2026-09-14 |
| Team, standard seat | $25 per seat/month ($20 per seat/month billed annually) | More usage than Pro per seat, with central billing, SSO, enterprise search and admin controls. | Not stated | Claude pricing Read 2026-09-14 |
| Team, premium seat | $125 per seat/month ($100 per seat/month billed annually) | 5x more usage than a standard seat. | Not stated | Claude pricing Read 2026-09-14 |
| Enterprise | $20 per seat/month, billed annually only | Seat price plus usage billed at API rates; user and organisation spend limits. | Yes, at API rates | Claude pricing Read 2026-09-14 |
What the Pro price buys at API list rates: $20 is 10 million input tokens or 2 million output tokens of Claude Sonnet 5 ($2 and $10 per million, registry updated September 25, 2026). Arithmetic on published rates, not a statement of the plan's allowance; past the plan's own limit, extra usage is what the provider's page says it is.
Pick a plan, a Claude model and a workload. The API side is list rates times the tokens you enter, the same arithmetic as the pricing calculator. The plan side is its published price; its cap is not published.
Keep these assumptions with the decision. The estimate above is today’s list rates against the workload you typed; both move. Save it as a Radar cost scenario and the next review starts from the same numbers, with the source of every rate attached.
Estimate only, at list rates from the pricing registry. It excludes reasoning tokens billed as output, batch discounts, taxes and provider minimums. Confirm the exact model identifier in the model ID directory and the rate on the Claude API pricing hub.
Product limits can depend on plan, location, workspace controls, prior use, feature availability, and the exact work requested. A useful public page preserves that distinction rather than turning a provider article into a fake personal dashboard.