Skip to main content
BenchLM
Data
Claude API · Signup credit
Read from the provider page

Claude API free tier

Anthropic publishes no free API tier. New users receive a small amount of free credits to test the API; the amount is not stated on the pricing page, and extended trials are arranged through sales.

Signup credit: Claude API

Published on the provider page
Claude API: each limit with its value, scope and note.
LimitValueApplies toNote
Free creditUnpublishedAccountThe pricing FAQ says a small amount of free credits; no figure is published.
What moves you past this tier
Adding a payment method and using the API; organizations start in an Evaluation or Start tier and move up automatically with usage history.
Card required
Not stated by the provider

Paid entry tier: Claude API, Start tier

Published on the provider page

The Start tier carries a $500 monthly spend cap; Build ($1,000 cap) and Scale ($200,000 cap) follow with usage history, and the Custom tier has no cap. The page publishes one table of standard per-model rate limits; new organizations may begin in an Evaluation tier with lower limits. Cache reads do not count toward input-token limits on most current models.

Claude API, Start tier: each limit with its value, scope and note.
LimitValueApplies toNote
Monthly spend cap$500AccountStart tier
Requests per minute1,000Claude Sonnet 5.5Standard limit
Input tokens per minute2,000,000Claude Sonnet 5.5Standard limit; uncached input only
Output tokens per minute400,000Claude Sonnet 5.5Standard limit
Requests per minute1,000Claude Sonnet 5Standard limit
Input tokens per minute2,000,000Claude Sonnet 5Standard limit; uncached input only
Output tokens per minute400,000Claude Sonnet 5Standard limit
Requests per minute1,000Claude Haiku 5.5Standard limit
Input tokens per minute2,000,000Claude Haiku 5.5Standard limit; uncached input only
Output tokens per minute400,000Claude Haiku 5.5Standard limit
Requests per minute1,000Claude Haiku 4.5Standard limit
Input tokens per minute2,000,000Claude Haiku 4.5Standard limit; uncached input only
Output tokens per minute400,000Claude Haiku 4.5Standard limit
Requests per minute1,000Claude Opus 5.5Standard limit
Input tokens per minute2,000,000Claude Opus 5.5Standard limit; uncached input only
Output tokens per minute400,000Claude Opus 5.5Standard limit
Requests per minute1,000Claude Opus 5Standard limit
Input tokens per minute2,000,000Claude Opus 5Standard limit; uncached input only
Output tokens per minute400,000Claude Opus 5Standard limit
Requests per minute1,000Claude Fable 5.xStandard limit; combined across Fable 5.1 and Fable 5
Input tokens per minute500,000Claude Fable 5.xStandard limit; combined
Output tokens per minute100,000Claude Fable 5.xStandard limit; combined
What moves you past this tier
Tiers advance automatically on usage history and account standing; higher limits can be requested from the Console.
Card required
Yes

The page lists one standard rate-limit table; Build, Scale and Custom differ by monthly spend cap.

Questions

Is there a free Claude API tier?

No. Anthropic’s pricing page lists no free production tier. New users receive a small amount of free credits to test the API, an amount the page does not state, and extended trials go through sales. Claude’s free consumer plan is a separate product and does not include API access.

How many free credits does Anthropic give new accounts?

Anthropic does not publish the figure. Its pricing FAQ says only that new users receive a small amount of free credits. We record the value as unpublished; any number you see elsewhere is not from Anthropic’s page.

What are the Claude API rate limits on the Start tier?

A $500 monthly spend cap, and per model 1,000 requests a minute with 2,000,000 uncached input tokens and 400,000 output tokens a minute for Claude Sonnet 5, Opus 5 and Haiku 4.5; the Fable 5 family shares 500,000 input and 100,000 output tokens a minute. Cache reads do not count toward input limits.