Skip to main content
BenchLM
Data
GroqCloud · Free tier
Read from the provider page

Groq API free tier

Groq publishes sample Free-plan limits per model, applied at the organization level, and says the current exact limits for an organization are on the limits page in account settings, with possible exceptions. Text models such as gpt-oss-120b and Qwen3.8 27B list 30 requests a minute, 1,000 requests a day, 8,000 tokens a minute and 200,000 tokens a day.

Free tier: GroqCloud API, Free plan

Published on the provider page
GroqCloud API, Free plan: each limit with its value, scope and note.
LimitValueApplies toNote
Requests per minute30openai/gpt-oss-120bFree plan sample limit
Requests per day1,000openai/gpt-oss-120bFree plan sample limit
Tokens per minute8,000openai/gpt-oss-120bFree plan sample limit
Tokens per day200,000openai/gpt-oss-120bFree plan sample limit
Requests per minute30qwen/qwen3.8-27bFree plan sample limit
Requests per day1,000qwen/qwen3.8-27bFree plan sample limit
Tokens per minute8,000qwen/qwen3.8-27bFree plan sample limit
Tokens per day200,000qwen/qwen3.8-27bFree plan sample limit
What moves you past this tier
Upgrading to the Developer plan gives higher limits plus Batch and Flex processing; enterprise limits are available for select workloads.
Card required
Not stated by the provider
Source
Groq rate limits Read 2026-10-16

Limits apply per organization, not per user; the docs table is a sample and the console limits page is authoritative. groq/compound no longer appears in the Free plan table.

What Groq charges after the free tier

Groq publishes per-token prices for 4 text models. The highest-scoring ones are below, per million tokens, read from its own pages on October 20, 2026.

  • Qwen 3.8 27B$0.80 in · $4.00 out
  • GPT OSS 120B$0.15 in · $0.60 out
  • GPT OSS 20B$0.075 in · $0.30 out
  • Safety GPT OSS 20B$0.075 in · $0.30 out
Every Groq price, with scores and speeds

Questions

Is the Groq API free?

GroqCloud has a Free plan. Groq publishes sample limits per model for it: 30 requests a minute, 1,000 requests a day, 8,000 tokens a minute and 200,000 tokens a day on text models such as gpt-oss-120b and Qwen3.8 27B, with the Compound systems at 30 requests a minute and 250 a day.

Are Groq rate limits per user or per organisation?

Per organisation. Groq states that rate limits apply at the organisation level, not to individual users, so extra keys or members do not add capacity. The documentation table is a sample; the exact current limits for an organisation are on the limits page in account settings, and Groq notes there may be exceptions.

What does the Groq Developer plan change?

Groq says upgrading to the Developer plan gives access to higher limits plus Batch and Flex processing, and that higher limits are available for select workloads and enterprise use cases. The plan’s price and whether a card is required are not stated on the rate-limits page we read, so we do not record them.