Is the OpenAI API free?
OpenAI's rate-limits guide lists a Free usage tier for organizations in an allowed geography, with a $100 a month usage limit. The GPT-5.6 Terra and GPT-5.6 Luna model pages list the Free tier as not supported, so a Free-tier organization cannot call those models.
Free tier: OpenAI API, Free usage tier
Published on the provider page| Limit | Value | Applies to | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly spend cap | $100 | Account | Free usage tier; the organization must be in an allowed geography |
- What moves you past this tier
- $5 in total credit purchases moves the organization to the Build tier ($500 a month); $100 reaches Launch ($5,000 a month) and $500 reaches Grow ($200,000 a month).
- Card required
- Not stated by the provider
- Source
- OpenAI rate limits guide Read 2026-10-16
The guide does not state a free signup credit; we record none. Free-tier support for the GPT-6 models is not checked here.
Paid entry tier: OpenAI API, Build tier
Published on the provider pageThe Build tier starts once $5 of credits has been purchased: a $500 a month usage limit and standard rate limits of 5,000 requests and 1,000,000 tokens a minute for Astra, Sol and Terra models, and 5,000 requests and 2,000,000 tokens a minute for Luna models.
| Limit | Value | Applies to | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly spend cap | $500 | Account | Build tier usage limit |
| Requests per minute | 5,000 | Astra, Sol and Terra models | Build tier standard limit |
| Tokens per minute | 1,000,000 | Astra, Sol and Terra models | Build tier standard limit |
| Requests per minute | 5,000 | Luna models | Build tier standard limit |
| Tokens per minute | 2,000,000 | Luna models | Build tier standard limit |
- What moves you past this tier
- Total credit purchases move the organization up: $100 for Launch ($5,000 a month), $500 for Grow ($200,000 a month).
- Card required
- Yes
- Source
- OpenAI rate limits guide Read 2026-10-16
Tier names, thresholds, usage limits and the standard rate-limit table are from the rate-limits guide; the GPT-5.6 Terra and Luna model pages show the same Build figures.
Questions
Does the OpenAI API have a free tier?
OpenAI’s rate-limits guide lists a Free usage tier for organisations that have not paid, limited to allowed geographies and to $100 of usage a month. The model pages for GPT-5.6 Terra and Luna publish rate limits from Tier 1 upward only, so which models the Free tier can call is not stated on those pages.
Does OpenAI give free API credits to new accounts?
The rate-limits guide does not state a signup credit, and the pricing page we read does not either. We record none rather than repeat a figure from a third-party page. If you see a promotional credit inside your own account, it is account-specific and not a published policy.
What are the OpenAI API Tier 1 limits?
Tier 1 begins once $5 has been paid and carries a $100 a month usage limit. Per model, the published Tier 1 limits are 500 requests and 500,000 tokens a minute for GPT-5.6 Terra and the same for GPT-5.6 Luna, with batch queue limits listed separately on each model page.
How do the OpenAI usage tiers increase?
By cumulative payments, not by time. $50 paid moves an organisation to Tier 2 with a $500 monthly limit, $100 to Tier 3 at $1,000, $250 to Tier 4 at $5,000, and $1,000 to Tier 5 at $200,000 a month. Rate limits per model rise with each tier and are listed on the model pages.